Naxos Recording Project

09Feb09

Well, it’s finally that time. After months of building up towards this recording of Lawrence Dillon’s music, I find myself on a plane to Toronto with a mission – to RECORD SOMETHING THAT WILL FOLLOW ME FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE….no pressure. Seriously, though, I plan on enjoying myself as much as possible.

After a day of wandering around Toronto on my own, I settle into the Residence Inn across from the CBC studio building where I am to record tomorrow with David Fung, my pianist. Really nice hotel – like a cute little apartment. David and I immediately notice the jacuzzi, which we will definitely take advantage of later. Especially since it is 28 degrees below zero outside!!

img_3467

Day 1: Toronto, Ontario. Glenn Gould Studio.

On our first day, we tackled the piano sonata. We spent 1 hour on the 2nd movement, 2 hours on the first movement, and another hour on the Marimba/Violin piece, which Stan Muncy flew out just for one day to record! Our recording engineer, Norbert Kraft, was absolutely amazing. Click here to read more….

One Response to “Naxos Recording Project”

  1. 1 jerome anthony

    Nice blog, Danielle! I just might bookmark it…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

